• Page:

TOPIC:

Solenoid Valve to Fuel Filter Conversion 3 years 6 months ago #27829

• Lucien-Harpress
  • Lucien-Harpress's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 108
DISCLAIMER: This is currently a work-in-progress. I am no expert, and this has, as of this posting, not been tested under operating conditions. If you decide to attempt anything similar, just know that you have a fool for a teacher.

Like most people, I am aware of the infamous solenoid-operated fuel shutoff valve for the big 1300. How that the services it provides are of dubious value, and the unhealthy tendency to fail at the worst possible time. However, I ALSO love things being period-correct, and this includes (at the very least) a visual representation of every stock part, even if the functionality is different.

A while ago I managed to get my hands on an non-working solenoid. No big deal- it was easily bypassed by removing the plunger valve and spring, rendering it inert. I plumbed it in, and ran it for quite a while like that. But there was always this idea in the back of my head to make it, you know, USEFUL.

I always like to try to run some kind of fuel filter on all of my bikes- cheap insurance. Unfortunately, the routing for the fuel line on the KZ1300 (any way of routing) doesn't really lend itself to easily fitting a fuel filter. So, brainwave- why not repurpose my currently useless valve AS a fuel filter?

Only one problem- the inlet is 90 degrees to the outlet (not a problem) and they're RIGHT NEXT to each other (big problem). Even though the solenoid is two parts, I couldn't just sandwich a filter element in between the two pieces. Until, that is, I got lucky on eBay.