Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Welcome to the Kunena forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

TOPIC:

1985 DFI z1300 starting trouble 7 years 7 months ago #14566

• Havers
  • Havers's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi z1300 members,

I am a new member and would appreciate some suggestions to assist me working out my starting issues. I am not a trained mechanic just a back yard enthusiast.

Basically the bike was purchased not running but after getting it home and playing around with a few different things I did have the bike running briefly although only at fast idle for a few minutes and when I blipped the throttle it would bog down and stall and start it again after cranking for a while and it would fire up. Since that day a few weeks ago I cant get it to fire again at all.

So after messing around with it for past few weeks thought i would see if any on the forum can offer some suggestions.

The bike has a new aftermarket generic bosch fuel pump, one way check valve in fuel return line, adjustable fuel regulator and had the injectors cleaned which seem to be spraying fine hooked up to the bike. I have got spark and compression test reads 110 psi cold. DFI scan seems fine with no warning signs etc.

Thanks in advance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1985 DFI z1300 starting trouble 7 years 7 months ago #14572

• strate6
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • On An Adventure Before Dementia ! !
  • Thank you received: 356
Hello mate,

As it seems you are already aware, you really only need 3 things to get most engines to run in a fashion.

Compression, Spark and Fuel.

You then need to look at the timing of all 3 and then look deeper into things like the quality of spark etc.