Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

In frame engine painting 6 years 3 months ago #18163

• whistlers mother
  • whistlers mother's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 3
Hi guys.Progressing with my 79 renovation and thinking of using high temp aerosol to make the block and cam covers look nice.Dont want to remove the engine.Is it possible and practical to do this.My main question really is how to spray without removing all the chrome bolts/How can I mask them?Mark, Essex biker.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

In frame engine painting 6 years 3 months ago #18165

• StanG
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Thank you received: 248
Hi Mark.
I have no experience with this but I've been researching. I don't have a link on hand, but I've seen photos of people doing it on Google.
Basically, they removed the exhaust pipes and the carburetor. Masked all the covers. Some masked bolts as well, if you don't want them painted, but lots of people paint the bolts as well. Except any chrome plated. Then, the rest of the bike got tightly masked with blankets or plastic sheets. They also masked carefully all the frame around the engine. The results looked like a perfect job. One guy stated that since you can't bead blast the engine, it took him a week to strip the old paint from the engine with a Dremel tool.
Stan

In frame engine painting 6 years 3 months ago #18166

• whistlers mother
Thanks Stan . Most of the engine is pretty good but I appreciate I need to do as much as possible so it all matches . I’ve biught a roll of cling film to wrap around frame and various bits . I hate taking those carbs off lol getting the air box back on is a pain . All the engine bolts are chrome . I’ve thought about spraying it all and then take one bolt out at a time to polish back up but I’m sure I’ll end up with an oil leak and gasket change . Too cold to paint as well now as at least 20c required according to the aerosol