Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

valve not seating propelly. 2 years 9 months ago #29305

• ldemon
  • ldemon's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
hello every one
ok so this is a new problem for my 1981 kz1300. i have been working on the bike for three years, i do a lot of things to make it perfect and unable to do so. but there was my planning for this summer.
1- disassemble the carb clean it well with "Scotch Cleaning tool's" .. it's done.
2- valve clearance and adjust if necessary.
3- heat it up and synchronize it.
4-color set and then, if it's not right, I'll ask for help, but there is a problem with # 2.

I did not check the compression before adjusting the valve. I took it last summer and here are my results.
cyl # 1 115 psi
cyl # 2 110 psi
cyl # 3 90 psi *****
cyl # 4 120 psi
cyl # 5 110 psi
cyl # 6 120 psi
this valve job was my first and everything is going well. I need to adjust my inlet and outlet # 6, my outlet # 2, my inlet and my outlet # 4. So I had 5 shims to change. Yes I made a mystake I changed the n ° 2 shim which was too thin and I put a thinner one.
I buy a brand new compression kit from mytivac, it's a good one but now the compression is.
# 1- 140 psi
# 2- 55 psi ****
# 3- 90 psi
# 4- 145 psi
# 5- 130 psi
# 6- 110 psi
I removed my valve cover again and realized my mistake on # 2, so put the right shim this time, took the compression still at 55psi.
I can see through the candle hole a black deposit and a little white and this particular valve. I did the cylinder leak test and it clearly showed the problem was the # 2 outlet valve, which was not seated properly. the bike has not started since last summer 7 months.

do I start the bike and heat it up to check if the carbon and white deposit has burned off and take my compression when the engine is hot or just pull my head off to see what's going on in there, could i have done something wrong and am wondering if the head gasket is not damaged between cyl#2 and cyl#3 .