TOPIC:

Valve Cover Gasket Source? 5 years 11 months ago #19652

• Bucko
  • Bucko's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 164
Finally got around to pulling the valve cover on my 86 Voyager - it's never been off before and took some convincing persuasion with a BFRH (Big F'n Rubber Hammer). Sadly the cover gasket ripped during removal. My research shows they're no longer avaible from Kawasaki. What do you guys use? Where do you get them? Enquiring minds want to know.

Also curious if anyone bothers with sealant at the cam bore plugs (as per the service manual) - I've never used it before and have never had any leaks (on other bikes).
Hello from Canada's We(s)t coast.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Valve Cover Gasket Source? 5 years 11 months ago #19654

• StanG
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Thank you received: 248
I bought a set on eBay - it has all bunch of gaskets for side covers, oil pan, etc. Whatever not used will be good for the future.
An alternative would be getting gasket material from let's say Lordco, and tracing it making own gasket. It's flat, but many holes. But can be done with patience.
I used a sealant on the plugs - it got squashed out and the rubbers as well, but why not. It's an easy application and gives me some peace of mind considering these plugs are 30+ years rubbers.
Also, check the www.z1300.de/ 'motor' section. New plugs and gasket are there.

Last edit: by StanG.

Valve Cover Gasket Source? 5 years 11 months ago #19658

• Bucko
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
Hi Stan. All the kits I see are for all year KZ1300 and ZN1300 but the Engine covers changed in about 82 so they're not all the same and the ZN covers might be different yet again (I don't think so though). If I could find a set for a ZN, I'd be all over it.

Valve Cover Gasket Source? 5 years 11 months ago #19659

• Bucko
  • Away
  • Platinum Member