• Page:

TOPIC:

Starter Clutch Query ??? 8 years 8 months ago #8534

• Tonto
  • Tonto's Avatar Topic Author
  • Sustaining Member
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 133
Guys: I am a novice when it comes to engines so please bear with me on this :)
I replaced my starter clutch assembly 15 months ago, all was good and she still starts on the button, however whilst I was out the other day and riding in crawling traffic I heard an intermittent noise coming from the starter motor: almost as if it was re-engaging ! Nothing horrific, almost as if the starter was spinning up.
When I start the bike all sounds OK ?? but when riding I sometimes get the dreaded noise :S

I took the side cover off and there was no sign of carnage, but the large stater clutch gear will no longer "free wheel" in one direction as it should (I forget it it should free wheel clock wise or counter clock wise). I have the correct spacers / thrust washers etc. new starter clutch assy., so am at a loss as to why it wont free wheel.

Before I start stripping it down, has anyone any tips as to what might be going on ???

Cheers Tim
"Success consists of going from failure to failure without the loss of enthusiasm " Winston Churchill.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Starter Clutch Query ??? 8 years 8 months ago #8535

• McZed
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 26
It could be a faulty starter switch and it’s making intermittent contact. The starter switch on mine sometimes doesn’t disengage when I let it go.
Z1300 UK

Starter Clutch Query ??? 8 years 8 months ago #8558

• Tonto
  • Sustaining Member
  • Sustaining Member
McZed, thanks - I've had the switch gear apart, but all looks fine and good in operation: gave it a good clean whilst I had it in pieces though.
Just not sure why the main gear wheel has "nipped up" for no obvious reason - I'll be stripping it down in the next day or two, fingers crossed it will be an easy fix.

Cheers Tim