• Page:

TOPIC:

Went to the drag strip! and other upgrades 6 years 4 months ago #18042

• Raygun
  • Raygun's Avatar Topic Author
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thank you received: 17
A month ago or so I went to the drag strip for the first time with the 1300. My dad and grandad are both serious drag racers with nostalgia front engine dragsters that run in the low 9s in the quarter mile. So I wanted to see how I'd do. I didn't really prepare in anyway (no changes to tire pressure, no burnouts, etc) and just wanted to get some runs in. I was launching at 6000 rpm, slipping the clutch and probably launching poorly so my 60 foot times were terrible! I ended up getting 6 runs in total and got pretty consistent for the last four running 14.66, 14.46, 14.47, and 14.33 in the quarter mile. Top speed was 94.78. So not terrible times for a total novice! I had a fantastic time but forgot to get pictures.

In other news, I modified my Vetter trunk with some LED trailer lights similar to this thread on another site: www.thegsresources.com/_forum/showthread...-Vetter-trunk-lights. I really like how they turned out and they are much brighter than the previous lights. I also added a KOSO mini gauge for air temp, time, and voltage. I was having issues with my turn signals not running when using the brake lights at intersections and was worried about the voltage dropping at idle. I know the charging systems for these bikes weren't meant to run a bunch of lights and the LEDs cleared up that issue. So I'm loving my KZ and am still using it to commute daily.

1982 KZ1300
2003 KLX400SR
1999 KDX220
Wife
Son
Daughter
Cat x 3
The following user(s) said Thank You: scotch, zed_thirteen

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Raygun.

Went to the drag strip! and other upgrades 6 years 4 months ago #18045

• Kawboy
  • Sustaining Member
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 1028