• Page:

TOPIC:

driling and tapping hardend steel 9 years 4 months ago #5432

• kennyb
  • kennyb's Avatar Topic Author
  • Sustaining Member
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 8
I want to drill my crank and tap so I can accommodate a M12 bolt to add a voyager 1300 rotor. I ordered the drill bit and tap. So I started to drill and not really making progress at all.This is some hard stuff.What kind of drill bit works on this stuff.I'm a newbie at this stuff and btw this is being done on a spare engine that I plan on rebuilding.I was thinking of purchasing a Voyager 1300 crank in the future,thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

driling and tapping hardend steel 9 years 4 months ago #5434

• Kawboy
  • Sustaining Member
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 1027
I would suggest you spend the money on a Cobalt drill bit and also get yourself a bottle of lithium based cutting fluid (looks like green paste) The cobalt bit is tougher than hardened steel and the lithium based cutting paste (fluid) is the best I know of for drilling tapping tough material. You'll want to drill at a very low rpm and a lot of pressure otherwise you'll take the temper out of the drill bit and case harden the crankshaft with the heat generated. Try to judge the pressure you're applying by keeping the cutting paste from smoking.
Any other machinists out there care to chime in?

driling and tapping hardend steel 9 years 4 months ago #5435

• KZQ
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Lifelong Rider Suffering Through MBD
  • Thank you received: 274
Hi Kenny,

Pretty sure that the usual order of processes is to machine a part and then heat treat it. I'm not sure you can do what your want without annealing the part first then machining it and then retempering it. I'm also pretty sure that there's a big risk that the heat treating will allow some internal stresses to be relieved resulting in a crooked part.

Wish I could offer you more.

Bill