Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Help with K1300 Restoration Please 10 years 4 days ago #2643

• KEL
  • KEL's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
OK. I've been lurking here for a while referencing information for the build I have going on at the moment. I'm new to these beasts and am learning as I go along and I am going to be asking a fair few questions of you here at the forum with the hope that you can help me get this over the line.
Initially, I found an old and VERY VERY neglected 79 with very low production number. It looked like this:

I have spent a few weeks now removing bits, painting, cleaning, cleaning, cleaning, fixing wiring and other things and finally got to this:

So, today I finally summoned up the courage to whack the battery in and see what happened.
Hooray, I have power to the console, but there is a constant clicking noise coming from the fuel shutoff solenoid mounted to the frame. It appears to be sucking as if I put my finger over one end I can feel it drawing. I don't have my tank fitted and no fuel feeding to the carbs at this stage.
BUT, nothing else......
I tried hitting the starter button but it does nothing. No clicking of the starter solenoid, nothing.
My first question is have I or am I missing something?

Thanks to all in advance!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by KEL.

Help with K1300 Restoration Please 10 years 4 days ago #2644

• strate6
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • On An Adventure Before Dementia ! !
  • Thank you received: 356
Hi,

I think you maybe mistaking the fuel shut off for the starter solenoid,