Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

KZ 1st. Build ? 5 years 4 months ago #22167

• trainers
  • trainers's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm new to the KZ1300 forum but have been around motorcycles for over 50 years. Currently have a 77' KZ1000 built, 74' CB750 K4, 74' CB450, and 75' Goldwing. In years past past I built a 79' CBX and 72' H2 and many other projects so I have a pretty good understanding of Japanese Classics.

I've alway admired the KZ1300 for it's uniqueness and always lean towards any interesting bike for a New Build. So far I haven't found a 13 yet but am extensively looking? Wouldn't mind even finding a running motor/trans. in a complete frame and going from there. So If anyone on the Forum has something that I may be interested in, please let me know. For me it doesn't have to be a complete original bike for I lean towards a Cafe Look and putting my own personal touch to it.

I see there are a lot of Voyagers out there which could be stripped down but wouldn't this be a completely different frame and geometry set-up than the earlier KZ's ?

Also, is Fuel injection a better set-up than the carbureted versions ?

Any opinions would be Greatly Appreciated !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KZ 1st. Build ? 5 years 4 months ago #22178

• Frank833
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 89
Voyagers (ZN1300) have a frame that is significantly different than a KZ. You can tell some of the differences from the part diagrams and others by looking at the bikes.

Here is a stripped down Voyager that is for sale:

sfbay.craigslist.org/pen/mcy/d/naked-kaw...1300/6747419149.html

The most noticeable differences (for me), are the lower seat height, the different shape of the frame around the side covers and the shorter tail.

Build which ever you are happier with...